NaNo ’13

Standard

This will be my fourth year participating in NaNoWriMo.  Every year I write something completely different from the last, never the same genre, never the same characters and I just have a blast doing it.  I normally plan it all out months beforehand and have pages upon pages of ideas, plot points, sample dialogue and scenarios for my characters to end up in… but this year I have been slacking.  Between work and video games and goofing off on the internet, I haven’t really thought much about NaNo.  Now that it’s right around the corner I’ve been thinking about what I want to write and I’ve had to deal with the fact that I’m going to be pantsing it this year.  It’s so strange, I very rarely try to write something without some kind of outline.

For the past week I’ve been jumping from idea to idea, trying to pick out something that will hold my attention for a month without me getting bored of it.  I’ve considered genre, what kind of characters I want, the setting – but I have come up with nothing… sort of.  I thought I had a story picked out and then… I ended up starting it just to see how I felt about it and realized it will have to be something I work on outside of NaNo.  So I must say goodbye to that idea until around next year sometime.

So, what am I going to do this year?  I don’t know yet, but I have an inkling it’s going to be something involving soul mates, best friends and death.

If you are participating in National Novel Writing Month as well my username is horror-zombie-gem and you can find me here.

Leave a Reply

