NaNo Planning

Standard

The Outline

Finally, I have finished my NaNo outline!  I was going to work on it yesterday, but I procrastinated until I had to go to bed.  But here I am with a notebook in front of me, my hand aching from handwriting (something I hardly ever do) and an outline that I hope will help me make it through November without wanting to give up.

I’ve broken Separation Anxiety into five parts:

  1. So They Met
  2. Love the Universe Pulls For
  3. All Meetings Have an End
  4. Trace for Disappearing
  5. When the Door Closes

And combined it should come to a total of twenty-four chapters.  I’m not actually sure how long it’s going to be though.  Obviously, it should come up to at least 50,000, but I’m thinking it will end up quite a bit more than that.  Every year my NaNo’s seem to get longer and longer.

When I started planning, I didn’t have an end in mind, I knew about some of things that were going to happen in the story and I knew the beginning, but I didn’t know the end.  Usually I have an end in mind and have to think really hard about the start of the story.  I was doing great at planning the story out, until I got to the last few chapters.  I wasn’t sure how I was possibly going to make a resolution to the story, but I pushed through and now I’m super excited.  It turns out that Separation Anxiety takes place in the same universe as another of my stories and I get to bring back one of my favorite characters for a couple of scenes.

The Characters

Going into this, I had four characters that played major roles in the story: Jack, Kendall, Brandi and Aaron.  Now there are only three, with Aaron having been demoted to being mentioned in one chapter.

Jack is the main character, Kendall is his love interest, Brandi is dead and Aaron is apparently not as important as I thought he was.

Oh, and then there’s Sean.  A cupid who hates humans.

So… Yeah

I didn’t really think this post out before typing it, but I’m not into structured posts anyways.  NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow, but I have to be at work early in the morning so I probably won’t be starting NaNo until 6pm or so.  Still, I am really excited for this story and I can’t wait to begin!

Leave a Reply

