10/18/14

Standard

November is almost here and with it NaNoWriMo!  I’m very excited since it seems to be the easiest way for me to get any writing done.  For some reason Camp NaNo just doesn’t motivate me as much and I never finish what I start, but I have yet to fail a November NaNo.

I’m the type of writer who likes to plan out all the little events in a story and organize them by chapter, making a thorough outline for myself.  If I don’t do this it’s a miracle if a story ever gets completed.  I think I’ve only finished three stories without planning them while I have about thirty or so unfinished stories lying around because I have no idea what’s going to happen in them.  Planning a story from start to finish really helps me move along and keep the word count up since I always know what’s going to happen.

Now, the only problem I have is choosing what I’m going to write.  I have a bunch of ideas written down on various scraps of paper littering my desk.  Ideas on bits of receipt tape from work, written quickly between stocking freight and late-night shoppers needing me to check them out.  Ideas on colorful post-it notes, stuck all about my desk and whiteboard.  Ideas saved to documents that make my desktop look like an unorganized disaster and not even I can begin to straighten that up.  So, with all these ideas lying around it’s hard to settle on one.  One day I’ll start planning out a story, open my notebook and set pen to paper and after five chapters have been laid out I’ll become bored and think that a different story would be better suited for November.  After all, I have my whole life to work on all these other stories, but only one will be written this November.

I don’t know.  Hopefully I get this sorted before the start of November.

Leave a Reply

